Standing Committees

  • Standing committees are subcommittees of ABS directors that address a specific phase of the certification process. These committees make recommendations to the full board regarding their area of concern.

General Surgery Residency Committee

  • John D. Mellinger, M.D. - Chair
    Dai H. Chung, M.D.
    Martin A. Croce, M.D.
    Robert D. Fanelli, M.D.
    David R. Farley, M.D.
    Vivian Gahtan, M.D.
    Mary T. Hawn, M.D.
    M. Timothy Nelson, M.D.
    George A. Sarosi, M.D.
    James F. Whiting, M.D.

Advanced Surgical Education Committee

  • Lee L. Swanstrom, M.D. - Chair
    Fizan Abdullah, M.D.
    Marjorie J. Arca, M.D.
    Russell S. Berman, M.D.
    William C. Chapman, M.D.
    Christopher R. McHenry, M.D.
    David A. Spain, M.D.
    Mark L. Welton, M.D.

Diplomates Committee

  • Margo C. Shoup, M.D. - Chair
    Marwan S. Abouljoud, M.D.
    Tyler G. Hughes, M.D.
    Kenji Inaba, M.D.
    K. Craig Kent, M.D.
    M. Ashraf Mansour, M.D.
    David T. Netscher, M.D.
    Anne G. Rizzo, M.D.

Credentials Committee

  • Roxie M. Albrecht, M.D. - Chair
    Reid B. Adams, M.D.
    Mark S. Allen, M.D.
    Kenneth S. Azarow, M.D.
    Karen J. Brasel, M.D.
    Dev M. Desai, M.D.
    O. Joe Hines, M.D.
    Nancy D. Perrier, M.D.
    Spence M. Taylor, M.D.