Component Boards & Advisory Councils

  • ABS component boards and advisory councils provide additional expertise in specific specialty areas. They consist of members appointed by organizations representative of the specialty and ABS directors previously elected from within the specialty. These individuals receive no remuneration for their service.
  • The component boards also define and oversee all certification and examination processes in their respective specialties.

Vascular Surgery Board

  • Vivian Gahtan, M.D. (ABS/SVS) - Chair
    Daniel G. Clair, M.D. (SVS)
    Ronald L. Dalman, M.D. (SVS)
    Karl A. Illig, M.D. (Vascular and Endovascular Surgery Society)
    K. Craig Kent, M.D. (ABS/ASA)
    Frank R. Lewis Jr., M.D. (ex officio)
    M. Ashraf Mansour, M.D. (ABS/APDVS)
    Erica L. Mitchell, M.D. (SVS)
    Bruce A. Perler, M.D. (ex officio)
    Amy B. Reed, M.D. (APDVS)
    Spence M. Taylor, M.D. (ABS/SSA)
    Gilbert R. Upchurch Jr., M.D. (Society for Clinical Vascular Surgery)

Pediatric Surgery Board

  • Kenneth S. Azarow, M.D. (ABS/APSTPD) - Chair
    Fizan Abdullah, M.D. (ABS/AAS)
    Marjorie J. Arca, M.D. (ABS/APSA)
    Mary L. Brandt, M.D. (American Academy of Pediatrics, Surgical Section)
    Dai H. Chung, M.D. (ABS/SUS)
    Mary J. Edwards, M.D. (at large)
    Frank R. Lewis Jr., M.D. (ex officio)
    Frederick J. Rescorla, M.D. (ACS Advisory Council for Pediatric Surgery)
    John H.T. Waldhausen, M.D. (APSA)

Trauma, Burns and Critical Care Board

  • Martin A. Croce, M.D. (ABS/AAST) - Chair
    Roxie M. Albrecht, M.D. (ABS/SWSC)
    Karen J. Brasel, M.D. (ABS/ASA)
    Eileen M. Bulger, M.D. (AAST)
    David R. Farley, M.D. (ABS/WSA)
    David G. Greenhalgh, M.D. (American Burn Association)
    Frank R. Lewis Jr., M.D. (ex officio)
    Frederick A. Luchette, M.D. (ABS/SCCPDS)
    Joseph P. Minei, M.D. (AAST)
    Lena M. Napolitano, M.D. (ABS/ACS)
    David T. Netscher, M.D. (ABS/ABPS)
    Anne G. Rizzo, M.D. (ABS/at large)
    David A. Spain, M.D.(SCCPDS)
    Ronald M. Stewart, M.D. (ACS Committee on Trauma)
    Samuel A. Tisherman, M.D. (Society of Critical Care Medicine, Surgical Section)

Surgical Oncology Board

  • Christopher R. McHenry, M.D. (ABS/CSA) - Chair
    Reid B. Adams, M.D. (ABS/SESC)
    Mark S. Allen, M.D. (ABS/ABTS)
    Peter D. Beitsch, M.D. (American Society of Breast Surgeons)
    Russell S. Berman, M.D. (ABS/SSO)
    Michael A. Choti, M.D. (American Hepato-Pancreato-Biliary Assoc.)
    Gerard M. Doherty, M.D. (American Assoc. of Endocrine Surgeons)
    Kelly K. Hunt, M.D. (SSO)
    Frank R. Lewis Jr., M.D. (ex officio)
    Margo C. Shoup, M.D. (ABS/ACS)
    Kenneth K. Tanabe, M.D. (SSO)

Gastrointestinal Surgery Advisory Council

  • Tyler G. Hughes, M.D. (ABS/at large) - Chair
    Kevin E. Behrns, M.D. (ABS/ACS)
    Mark C. Callery, M.D. (American Hepato-Pancreato-Biliary Assoc.)
    Robert D. Fanelli, M.D. (ABS/at large)
    O. Joe Hines, M.D. (ABS/SSAT)
    Frank R. Lewis Jr., M.D. (ex officio)
    Kenric M. Murayama, M.D. (SSAT)
    Ninh T. Nguyen, M.D. (American Society for Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery)
    Daniel J. Scott, M.D. (Fellowship Council)
    Lee L. Swanstrom, M.D. (ABS/SAGES)
    Mark A. Talamini, M.D. (SAGES)
    Mark L. Welton, M.D. (ABS/ABCRS)

Transplantation Advisory Council

  • James F. Whiting, M.D. (ABS/NESS) - Chair
    Marwan S. Abouljoud, M.D. (ABS/ASTS)
    William C. Chapman, M.D. (ABS/ASA)
    Dev M. Desai, M.D. (ABS/SUS)
    Frank R. Lewis Jr., M.D. (ex officio)
    Elizabeth A. Pomfret, M.D. (ASTS)
    Dr. Peter G. Stock, M.D. (ASTS)
    Dr. Lewis W. Teperman, M.D. (ASTS)

General Surgery Advisory Council

  • Robert D. Fanelli, M.D. (ABS/at large) - Chair
    Jo Buyske, M.D. (ex officio)
    David R. Farley, M.D. (ABS/WSA)
    Mary T. Hawn, M.D. (ABS/ASA)
    Tyler G. Hughes, M.D. (ABS/at large)
    Frank R. Lewis Jr., M.D. (ex officio)
    Frederick A. Luchette, M.D. (ABS/SCCPDS)
    Mark A. Malangoni, M.D. (ex officio)
    John D. Mellinger, M.D. (ABS/APDS)
    George A. Sarosi, M.D. (ABS/AMA)
    William J. Scanlon, Ph.D. (ABS/public member)
Bookmark and Share