EPAs Project Volunteers

Entrustable Professional Activities - Volunteers

  • The ABS began exploring EPAs as a potential foundation for competency-based surgical training and initial board certification in 2016, following several years of discussion around various strategies to improve traditional time-based residency training models. The ABS then developed five index EPAs and piloted them at 28 diverse surgical residency programs from 2018-2020.
  • Many medical professionals have been involved in ABS discussions around EPAs, and even more have volunteered their time, their expertise, and even their surgical training programs in an effort to bring this training model to fruition for U.S.-based surgical residency programs. We would like to thank all of those who have been involved in this initiative and those will be involved as we continue to develop and implement EPAs.

Pilot Progam Participants

ABS EPA Pilot Program Map

  • Boston Medical Center (Boston University School of Medicine)
  • Brigham and Women's Hospital/Harvard Medical School
  • East Carolina University (ECU), Brody School of Medicine (Vidant Medical Center)
  • Einstein Healthcare Network
  • Gundersen Medical Foundation
  • Indiana University School of Medicine
  • Maine Medical Center (Tufts University School of Medicine)
  • New York-Presbyterian Hospital/Weill Cornell Medical Center
  • Northwestern University
  • Oregon Health & Science University (OHSU)
  • Southern Illinois University School of Medicine
  • Stanford University
  • State University of New York (SUNY) Upstate Medical University
  • Swedish Medical Center
  • University of Alabama at Birmingham
  • University of Arizona College of Medicine
  • University of California, Irvine
  • University of Connecticut (Uconn) Health
  • University of Florida (UF) College of Medicine
  • University of Michigan
  • University of Minnesota Medical School
  • University of Nebraska Medical Center
  • University of Rochester Medical Center
  • University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio (UTHSCSA)
  • University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health
  • Washington University in St. Louis/Barnes-Jewish Hospital
  • West Virginia University (WVU) Medicine
  • Wright State University, Boonshoft School of Medicine

ABS General Surgery EPA Task Force or Working Group Volunteers

EPA Advisory Council
  • George Sarosi, M.D. - Chair
  • John Mellinger, M.D. - Chair
  • Karen Brasel M.D.
  • Jo Buyske, M.D.
  • Daniel Dent, M.D.
  • Jan Franko M.D.
  • Eric Holmboe, M.D.
  • Mary Klingensmith, M.D.
  • Jeffrey Matthews, M.D.
  • Sarkis Meterissian, M.D.
  • Rebecca Minter, M.D.
  • Valentine Nfonsam, M.D.
  • Gurjit Sandhu, Ph.D.
EPA Scope Council
  • Russell Berman, M.D.
  • Karen Brasel, M.D.
  • Constance Cashin, M.D.
  • Marcie Feinman, M.D.
  • Liane Feldman, M.D.
  • Amy Hildreth, M.D.
  • Thomas Huber, M.D.
  • Ben Jarman, M.D.
  • D. Rohan Jeyarajah, M.D.
  • Mary Klingensmith, M.D.
  • John Mellinger, M.D.
  • Harry Papaconstantinou, M.D.
  • Aurora Pryor, M.D.
  • Pramod Puligandla, M.D.
  • Allison Robinson, M.D.
  • George Sarosi, M.D.
EPA Revision Working Group
  • Brenessa Lindeman, M.D. - Chair
  • Jennifer Choi, M.D.
  • Don Hess, M.D.
  • James Korndorffer, Jr., M.D.
  • Kelsey Montgomery, M.D.
  • Mayur Narayan, M.D.
  • Stephanie Nitzschke, M.D.
  • Brian Shames, M.D.
  • Justine Broecker, M.D. - Resident member
  • Taylor Coe, M.D. - Resident member
EPA Best Practices Working Group
  • Jacob Greenberg, M.D. - Chair
  • Mackenzie Cook, M.D.
  • Nicole Garcia, M.D.
  • Jason Johnson, D.O.
  • Brianne Nickel, M.A., C-TAGME
  • V. Prasad Poola, M.D.
  • Rabih Salloum, M.D.
  • Laura Torbeck, Ph.D.
  • Kyle Cassling, M.D. - Resident member
  • Amy Holmstrom, M.D. - Resident member
  • Christina Theodorou, M.D. - Resident member
  • Erin White, M.D., MBS - Resident member
  • Rebecca L. Williams, M.D., Ph.D. - Resident member
EPA Technology Working Group
  • Mark Hickey - Chair
  • Carol Barry, Ph.D.
  • David Borgstrom, M.D.
  • Ashley Counts, M.H.A.
  • Brian George, M.D.
  • Christopher Stahl, M.D.
  • Tiffany Tanner M.D.
  • May Tee, M.D.
  • Andrew Esposito, M.D. - Resident member
  • Kristin Jogerst, M.D. - Resident member
  • Kelsey Koch, M.D. - Resident member
EPA Writing Group


  • Cary Aarons, M.D.
  • Dirir Abdullahi, M.D.
  • Maria Altieri, M.D.
  • John Ammori, M.D.
  • Kristina Booth, M.D.
  • Clarence Clark, M.D.
  • Kathryn Coan, M.D.
  • Taylor Coe, M.D.
  • Brian Davis, M.D.
  • Danielle Ellis, M.D.
  • Jennifer Fieber, M.D.
  • Donald Hess, M.D.
  • Amy Holmstrom, M.D.
  • Kshama Jaiswal, M.D.
  • Krista Kaups, M.D.
  • Lawrence Kim, M.D.
  • Samantha Knight, M.D.
  • James Korndorffer, M.D.
  • Steven Lee, M.D.
  • Jeremy Lipman, M.D.
  • Ahmed Mahmoud, M.D.
  • Heath Many, M.D.
  • Bradford Mitchell, M.D.
  • Kelsey Montgomery, M.D.
  • Mayur Narayan, M.D.
  • Keith Ozaki, M.D.
  • Luise Pernar, M.D.
  • Brian Shames, M.D.
  • Thomas Shin, M.D.
  • Danny Takanishi, M.D.
  • Sanda Tan, M.D.


  • Karen Brasel, M.D.
  • Brenessa Lindeman, M.D.
  • Rebecca Minter, M.D.
  • George Sarosi, M.D.
EPA Faculty/Resident Development Task Force


  • Jake Greenberg, M.D.
  • Joshua Mammen, M.D.
  • Gurjit Sandhu, M.D.


  • Phoenix Chen, M.D.
  • Jan Franko, M.D.
  • Nicole Garcia, M.D.
  • Eric Holmboe, M.D.
  • Amy Holmstrom, M.D.
  • Jason Johnson, M.D.
  • Rebecca Karnesky-Williams, M.D.
  • Meghana Kashyap, M.D.
  • Brianne Nickel, M.A., C-TAGME
  • Ada Okafor, Esq.
  • Nell Patel, M.D.
  • V. Prasad Poola, M.D.
  • George Sarosi, M.D.
  • Chris Stahl, M.D.
  • Sue Steinemann, M.D.
  • Erin White, M.D.