Becoming certified in vascular surgery

Vascular Surgery

Exams Offered

Use the links below to learn more about the following vascular surgery examinations:

  • Successful completion of the Vascular Surgery Qualifying and Certifying Exams is required for board certification in vascular surgery. The Qualifying Exam is a 6-hour, multiple-choice examination held once per year on a single day at computer-testing centers across the U.S. The Certifying Examination is an oral exam consisting of 3 consecutive 30-minute sessions, and is held once per year.
  • The VSITE is a multiple-choice examination taken by surgeons while in residency; it is not required as part of the board certification process.

Booklet of Information

7-Year Limit for Certification

Surgeons who complete vascular surgery training after July 1, 2012, will have no more than 7 academic years following training to achieve certification in vascular surgery, i.e., pass both the QE and CE.

The 7-year period starts immediately upon completion of training. Only one exam opportunity will be offered in each year of the 7-year period.

You must apply immediately after training to receive the full number of exam opportunities. If you delay in applying, you will lose opportunities to pass the QE, which must be passed within 4 years following training. See below for more details.

  • QE: Applicants who apply immediately after training will receive up to 4 opportunities within 4 years to pass the QE. If you delay in applying for the QE, or do not take the QE when offered, you will lose exam opportunities.
  • CE: Upon successful completion of the QE, applicants will be offered up to 3 opportunities within 3 years to pass the CE. The three CE opportunities begin immediately upon successful completion of the QE. If you do not take the CE when offered, you will lose an exam opportunity.
  • If you are unable to become certified within the 7-year period, you will be required to pursue a readmissibility pathway to re-enter the certification process. See also our exam admissibility policy for further details.