Back to News Releases

Four New Directors to Join ABS

March 10, 2015 Media Contact: Christine Shiffer, 215-568-4000

The American Board of Surgery (ABS), the national certifying body for general surgeons and related specialists, will welcome to its board of directors this July four new directors from the following organizations. They will each serve a six-year term.

  • Marwan S. Abouljoud, M.D. – American Society of Transplant Surgeons
  • Dr. Abouljoud is division head of transplant and hepatobiliary surgery at Henry Ford Hospital in Detroit. He is also director and Benson Ford Chair of the Henry Ford Transplant Institute. In addition, Dr. Abouljoud serves as chief medical officer for the Henry Ford Medical Group, and as associate professor of surgery at Wayne State University School of Medicine. He completed medical school at the American University of Beirut, followed by residency at the University of Michigan and Henry Ford Hospital. He also completed fellowships in transplantation surgery at the University of Alabama at Birmingham and at Baylor University. Dr. Abouljoud currently serves as board member and region 10 councilor for the United Network of Organ Sharing (UNOS). He is also a past chair of the Henry Ford Medical Group Board of Governors and past councilor-at-large of the American Society of Transplant Surgeons.
  • Marjorie J. Arca, M.D. – American Pediatric Surgical Association
  • Dr. Arca is surgical director, critical care, at Children's Hospital of Wisconsin in Milwaukee. She also serves as professor of surgery, pediatric surgery and pediatrics, at the Medical College of Wisconsin, as well as assistant director for both its surgical critical care training program and pediatric surgery training program. Dr. Arca completed medical school at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) and residency at the University of Michigan. She completed fellowships in surgical critical care and pediatric surgery at the University of Michigan, as well as a fellowship in advanced laparoscopic surgery at the Cleveland Clinic. Dr. Arca is also the ACS NSQIP® Pediatric Surgeon Champion at the Children's Hospital of Wisconsin. Additionally, she is chair of outcomes committee, vice chair/incoming chair of education committee, and vice chair of critical care committee for the American Pediatric Surgical Association.
  • Mary T. Hawn, M.D., M.P.H. – American Surgical Association
  • Dr. Hawn is director, division of gastrointestinal surgery, and vice chair for quality and clinical effectiveness at the University of Alabama at Birmingham. She also serves as professor of surgery and public health at the university. Dr. Hawn completed medical school and residency at the University of Michigan, and completed a fellowship in minimally invasive surgery at the Oregon Health Sciences University. She currently serves on the American College of Surgeons (ACS) Board of Governors and as chair of the ACS Scientific Forum Committee. As of July 1, Dr. Hawn will be chair, department of surgery, at Stanford University School of Medicine.

  • O. Joe Hines, M.D. – Society for Surgery of the Alimentary Tract
  • Dr. Hines is chief, division of general surgery, and professor of surgery at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA. He also serves as the Robert and Kelly Day Chair in General Surgery and as director of the general surgery residency program. Dr. Hines completed medical school at the University of Oklahoma, followed by residency at UCLA. He is UCLA's ACS NSQIP Surgeon Champion, and currently serves on the ACS Board of Governors and as president of the ACS Southern California Chapter. He is also a past president of the Society of University Surgeons.

  • In Thanks

    The ABS gratefully acknowledges the dedication and commitment of the following outgoing directors, who will be leaving the board as of July: Dr. Douglas W. Hanto, Dr. Ronald B. Hirschl, Dr. David M. Mahvi, and Dr. Selwyn M. Vickers.

  • New Component Board and Advisory Council Members

    The ABS Trauma, Burns and Critical Care Board will welcome in July Dr. Samuel A. Tisherman of the Society of Critical Care Medicine - Surgical Section, while Dr. Kelly K. Hunt of the Society of Surgical Oncology will join the ABS Surgical Oncology Board. In addition, Dr. Peter G. Stock and Dr. Lewis W. Teperman will join the ABS Transplantation Advisory Council, both representing the American Society of Transplant Surgeons.

About the ABS
  • The American Board of Surgery is an independent, nonprofit organization founded in 1937 for the purpose of certifying individuals who have met a defined standard of education, training and knowledge in the field of surgery. Surgeons certified by the ABS have completed at least five years of surgical training following medical school and successfully completed a written and oral examination process administered by the ABS. They must then maintain their board certification through ongoing learning and practice improvement activities.
  • The ABS offers board certification in general surgery, vascular surgery, pediatric surgery, surgical critical care, complex general surgical oncology, surgery of the hand, and hospice and palliative medicine. It is one of the 24 member boards of the American Board of Medical Specialties.