2019-2020 Directors, Council Members & Executive Staff

  • Representatives of the American Board of Surgery are elected for a single six-year term from ABS nominating organizations or through an at-large open nomination process. All directors, officers and council members are surgeons in active practice, currently certified by the ABS and participating in the ABS Continuous Certification Program. They receive no remuneration for their service.


  • K. Craig Kent, M.D. - Chair
    John D. Mellinger, M.D. - Vice Chair
    Jo Buyske, M.D. - President and Chief Executive Officer
    Paris Butler, M.D. - Philadelphia, Pa.
    Mark Chassin, M.D. - Chicago, Ill.
    Karen Fisher, J.D. - Washington, D.C.
    Amy J. Goldberg, M.D. - Philadelphia, Pa.
    Mary T. Hawn, M.D. - Stanford, Calif.
    O. Joe Hines, M.D. - Los Angeles, Calif.
    Amit Joshi, M.D. - Philadelphia, Pa.
    M. Ashraf Mansour, M.B.B.S. - Grand Rapids, Mich.
    Rebecca M. Minter, M.D. - Madison, Wis.
    Beth Sutton, M.D. - Wichita Falls, Texas

Council Members

  • Marwan S. Abouljoud, M.D. - Detroit, Mich.
    Reid B. Adams, M.D. - Charlottesville, Va.
    Peter Angelos, M.D., Ph.D. - Chicago, Ill.
    Marjorie J. Arca, M.D. - Milwaukee, Wis.
    Douglas C. Barnhart, M.D. - Salt Lake City, Utah
    Russell S. Berman, M.D. - New York, N.Y.
    Rabih A. Chaer, M.D. - Pittsburgh, Pa.
    Herbert Chen, M.D. - Birmingham, Ala.
    Daniel L. Dent, M.D. - San Antonio, Texas
    Dev M. Desai, M.D. - Dallas, Texas
    Robert D. Fanelli, M.D., M.H.A. - Sayre, Pa.
    David R. Farley, M.D. - Rochester, Minn.
    Kenji Inaba, M.D. - Los Angeles, Calif.
    Joseph T. Jenkins, M.D. - Nags Head, N.C.
    Anne C. Larkin, M.D. - Worcester, Mass.
    Joshua M.V. Mammen, M.D. - Kansas City, Kan.
    Kelly M. McMasters, M.D., Ph.D. - Louisville, Ky.
    John Mitchell, M.D. - Denver, Colo.
    M. Timothy Nelson, M.D. - Albuquerque, N.M.
    Michael W. Neumeister, M.D. - Springfield, Ill.
    Kim M. Olthoff, M.D. - Philadelphia, Pa.
    Nancy D. Perrier, M.D. - Houston, Texas
    Allison J. Robinson, M.D. - Bishop, Calif.
    George A. Sarosi, M.D. - Gainesville, Fla.
    David A. Spain, M.D. - Stanford, Calif.
    John H. Stewart, IV, M.D., M.B.A. - Chicago, Ill.
    Lee L. Swanstrom, M.D. - Portland, Ore.
    Jennifer F. Tseng, M.D. - Boston, Mass.
    Gilbert R. Upchurch, Jr., M.D. - Gainesville, Fla.
    Mark L. Welton, M.D. - Minneapolis, Minn.

Executive Staff

  • Jo Buyske, M.D. - President and Chief Executive Officer
    Bruce A. Perler, M.D. - Vice President
    Abby L. Pozefsky, Esq. - General Counsel and Chief Administrative Officer
    Jessica A. Schreader - Chief Operating Officer
    Andrew Jones, Ph.D. - Director of Psychometrics and Research
    James F. Fiore - Director of Information Technology
    Marni C. Grambau - Director of Examination Development
See also our Contact Us page

ABS Council 2019-2020