Five New Directors to Join ABS

The ABS is pleased to introduce five new directors who will join the board in July.

The American Board of Surgery (ABS), the national certifying body for general surgeons and related specialists, is pleased to introduce five new directors who will join its board this July from the following organizations. They will each serve a six-year term. All ABS directors, other than public members, are currently certified by the ABS and meeting the requirements of the ABS Maintenance of Certification Program.

Kenji Inaba, M.D.

Kenji Inaba, M.D.Pacific Coast Surgical Association
Dr. Inaba is director of both the general surgery residency and surgical critical care fellowship programs at the University of Southern California Keck School of Medicine in Los Angeles, as well as an associate professor of surgery, emergency medicine and anesthesia. A native of Montreal, he completed medical school at Queen’s University and his residency at University of Western Ontario, followed by a fellowship in surgical critical care at the University of Miami. In addition to his surgical duties, Dr. Inaba serves as a reserve police officer with the Los Angeles Police Department.


M. Timothy Nelson, M.D.

M. Timothy Nelson, M.D.American College of Surgeons
Dr. Nelson is chief of general surgery at the University of New Mexico in Albuquerque, as well as professor of surgery and vice chair for education. He also serves as executive physician for health system surgical services. Originally from Los Angeles, he received his medical degree from the University of California, Los Angeles and completed residency at the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF). Dr. Nelson is the current chair of the Advisory Council for General Surgery of the American College of Surgeons (ACS), and also serves on the executive committee of the Association of Program Directors in Surgery and as state councilor for the Southwestern Surgical Congress.

Nancy D. Perrier, M.D.

Nancy D. Perrier, M.D.American College of Surgeons
Dr. Perrier is the Ruth and Walter Sterling Tenured Distinguished Professor of Surgery, as well as chief, section of surgical endocrinology, at the University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center in Houston. She also serves as director of its surgical endocrine fellowship program and co-director of the Multidisciplinary Endocrine Center. A native of Opelousas, Louisana, Dr. Perrier completed medical school at the Louisiana State University, followed by residency at the Mayo Clinic. She then completed a fellowship in endocrine surgical oncology at UCSF. She currently serves as treasurer of the American Association of Endocrine Surgeons (AAES) Foundation and is a past officer of the AAES and past member of the IAES executive council.

Nancy M. Schlichting, M.B.A.

Nancy M. Schlichting, M.B.A.Public Member
Ms. Schlichting is the ABS’ new public member, succeeding William Scanlon, Ph.D. She is the immediate past president and CEO of the Henry Ford Health System in Detroit, a $5 billon not-for-profit organization with more than 23,000 employees. Ms. Schlichting currently serves as an adjunct professor of health management and policy at the University of Michigan School of Public Health. Originally from New York City, she earned an A.B. in public policy studies from Duke University and an M.B.A. from Cornell University.
Ms. Schlichting serves on several national and community boards including Duke University Health System, Walgreens Boots Alliance, The Kresge Foundation, and Ardent Health Services.

David A. Spain, M.D.

David A. Spain, M.D.Surgical Critical Care Program Directors Society
Dr. Spain is the Ned and Carol Spieker Professor and Chief of Acute Care Surgery at Stanford University in California. He also serves as trauma medical director for Stanford Healthcare. A native of Detroit, he received his medical degree from Wayne State University and completed residency at the UMNDJ-Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, followed by a trauma/burns/surgical critical care fellowship at the University of Louisville. Dr. Spain is a member of the ACS Board of Govenors and program committee and also serves as recorder/program chair for the American Association for the Surgery of Trauma. He is also a past president of the SCCPDS and has served since 2013 on the ABS’ Trauma, Burns and Critical Care Board.

In Thanks

The ABS gratefully acknowledges the dedication and commitment of the following outgoing directors, who will be leaving the board as of July: Kevin E. Behrns, M.D.; John G. Hunter, M.D.; Frederick A. Luchette, M.D.; Lena M. Napolitano, M.D.; and William J. Scanlon, Ph.D.

New Component Board and Advisory Council Members

Dr. Aulivola, Dr. Sheahan, Dr. Pryor, and Dr. Palmieri
(Clockwise) Dr. Aulivola, Dr. Sheahan, Dr. Pryor, and Dr. Palmieri

The ABS’ component boards and advisory councils will also welcome some new members this July. The Vascular Surgery Board will welcome Bernadette Aulivola, M.D., of the Vascular and Endovascular Surgery Society, and Malachi G. Sheahan III, M.D., of the Association of Program Directors in Vascular Surgery. In addition, Tina L. Palmieri, M.D., of the American Burn Association will join the Trauma, Burns and Critical Care Board, and Aurora D. Pryor, M.D., of the Society of American Gastrointestinal and Endoscopic Surgeons will join the Gastrointestinal Surgery Advisory Council.

About the ABS

The American Board of Surgery is an independent, nonprofit organization founded in 1937 for the purpose of certifying individuals who have met a defined standard of education, training and knowledge in the field of surgery. Surgeons certified by the ABS have completed at least five years of surgical training following medical school and successfully completed a written and oral examination process administered by the ABS. They must then maintain their board certification through ongoing learning and practice improvement activities.

The ABS offers board certification in general surgery, vascular surgery, pediatric surgery, surgical critical care, complex general surgical oncology, surgery of the hand, and hospice and palliative medicine. It is one of the 24 member boards of the American Board of Medical Specialties.

Mar. 9, 2017 Media Contact: Alyson Maloney

Share this post

The links posted within resources are provided for informational purposes only. ABS assumes no responsibility for the content of these websites.

Reading Progress

Related News

The ABS announced that Dr. Bruce A. Perler has been hired as associate executive director for vascular surgery, to...
Read More
Results of the first-ever national multicenter randomized trial of resident duty hour policies show flexible, less restrictive policies are...
Read More
Contact Us
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet consect etur.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Sed accumsan erat semper tellus semper ultricies. Aenean dictum lacus vel tortor ornare egestas. Nunc ac eros vulputate, hendrerit odio eu, vestibulum velit. Phasellus eget dui at sem vehicula molestie non sit amet lectus.