Back to News Releases

ABS Welcomes 5 New Directors

Apr. 7, 2016 Media Contact: Christine Shiffer, 215-568-4000

The American Board of Surgery (ABS), the national certifying body for general surgeons and related specialists, will welcome this July to its board of directors five surgeons from the following organizations. They will each serve a six-year term. All ABS directors are currently certified by the ABS and meeting the requirements of the ABS Maintenance of Certification (MOC) Program.

  • Russell S. Berman, M.D.Society of Surgical Oncology
    Dr. Berman is chief of the division of surgical oncology and director of the general surgery residency program at New York University (NYU) Langone Medical Center in New York City. He is also the associate chair for surgical education and faculty development, as well as associate professor. He completed medical school at NYU and his residency at NYU/Bellevue Hospital, followed by a fellowship in surgical oncology at M.D. Anderson Cancer Center. Dr. Berman is a member of the executive council of the Society of Surgical Oncology (SSO) and chair of the SSO's SCORE Committee. He also serves on the membership committee of the Society of University Surgeons and as associate editor for the Journal of the National Cancer Institute.

  • Dev M. Desai, M.D.Society of University Surgeons
    Dr. Desai is chief of pediatric transplantation at Children's Medical Center in Dallas. He also serves as professor of surgery, pediatrics and immunology, and director of the abdominal transplantation fellowship at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center. Dr. Desai received his medical degree from the University of California, San Francisco and completed his residency at Stanford University Medical Center. He also completed at Stanford University a fellowship in adult and pediatric multiorgan transplantation. Dr. Desai is a member of the United Network of Organ Sharing (UNOS) - Region 4 Liver Committee and serves on the American College of Surgeons (ACS) Program Committee.

  • David R. Farley, M.D.Western Surgical Association
    Dr. Farley is vice chair of surgery and professor of surgery at the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine in Rochester, Minnesota, and director of surgical education at the Mayo Clinic Multidisciplinary Simulation Center. In addition, he serves as director of the general surgery residency program and as president of the Mayo-Clinic - Rochester staff. Dr. Farley completed medical school at the University of Wisconsin - Madison, followed by residency at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester. He is also co-editor of two publications: the journal Contemporary Surgery and the textbook Operative Techniques in General Surgery.

  • M. Ashraf Mansour, M.B.B.S.Association of Program Directors in Vascular Surgery
    Dr. Mansour is professor and chairman of the department of surgery at the Michigan State University College of Human Medicine in Grand Rapids, as well as chief of the division of cardiovascular medicine. He is also academic chair for surgical specialties at Spectrum Health Medical Group. Following medical school at the Cairo University School of Medicine in Egypt, Dr. Mansour completed residency at the University of Colorado Health Sciences Center, and a fellowship in vascular surgery at Southern Illinois University. He also serves as surgeon champion for the Michigan Surgical Quality Collaborative at Spectrum Health and as a member of Spectrum Health's board of directors.

  • George A. Sarosi, M.D.American Medical Association
    Dr. Sarosi is the Robert H. Hux M.D. Professor of Surgery at the University of Florida (UF) College of Medicine in Gainesville. He also serves as vice chairman for education in the department of surgery and director of the general surgery residency program. Additionally Dr. Sarosi is the medical director for the UF Center for Experiential Learning and Simulation. He received his medical degree from Harvard University and completed residency at the University of Michigan Medical Center. Dr. Sarosi also serves as vice chairman of the steering committee for the Resident Prep Curriculum of the ACS/Association of Program Directors in Surgery/Association for Surgical Education.

  • In Thanks

    The ABS gratefully acknowledges the dedication and commitment of the following outgoing directors, who will be leaving the board as of July: Dr. John F. Eidt, Dr. Stephen R.T. Evans, Dr. Gregory J. Jurkovich, Dr. David W. Mercer, and Dr. Douglas S. Tyler.

  • New Component Board and Advisory Council Members

    (Clockwise) Dr. Edwards, Dr. Dalman, Dr. Upchurch, Dr. Tanabe, Dr. Minei, Dr. Murayama, and Dr. Pomfret

    The ABS' component boards and advisory councils also have several new members. Dr. Mary J. Edwards joined the Pediatric Surgery Board as an at-large member earlier this year, while Dr. Ronald L. Dalman and Dr. Gilbert R. Upchurch Jr. will join the Vascular Surgery Board in July, representing the Society for Vascular Surgery and the Society for Clinical Vascular Surgery respectively.

    The Surgical Oncology Board will welcome Dr. Kenneth K. Tanabe of the SSO in July, and the Trauma, Burns and Critical Care Board will welcome Dr. Joseph P. Minei of the American Association for the Surgery of Trauma. In addition, in July Dr. Kenric M. Murayama of the Society for Surgery of the Alimentary Tract will join the Gastrointestinal Surgery Advisory Council, and Dr. Elizabeth A. Pomfret of the American Society of Transplant Surgeons will join the Transplantation Advisory Council.

About the ABS
  • The American Board of Surgery is an independent, nonprofit organization founded in 1937 for the purpose of certifying individuals who have met a defined standard of education, training and knowledge in the field of surgery. Surgeons certified by the ABS have completed at least five years of surgical training following medical school and successfully completed a written and oral examination process administered by the ABS. They must then maintain their board certification through ongoing learning and practice improvement activities.
  • The ABS offers board certification in general surgery, vascular surgery, pediatric surgery, surgical critical care, complex general surgical oncology, surgery of the hand, and hospice and palliative medicine. It is one of the 24 member boards of the American Board of Medical Specialties.